Tags

, , , , ,

daily dose

I admit, I have not done much research into this. Certainly not near enough as I should. But it has been recommended to me (not by my doctor, but from others familiar with my chosen way of eating) to start adding B12 and a high quality multivitamin to my regimen. I’m already taking fish oil for Omega-3 (started of my own accord, but “prescribed” by my doctor at the last visit) and Vitamin-D of my own accord, and beginning to experiment with magnesium supplementation (Natural Calm).

The B12 has been recommended for my fatigue. I’ll put this right out there – I’m not a morning person. When my work schedule rotates to day shifts, my alarm clock gets me up at 5:30 in the morning. I have made a fantastic effort over the past few months to get to bed at a reasonable hour to make sure I get enough sleep. This means I’ve been in bed between 8:30 and 9:30 pm each night. (Major props to my super supportive hubster for encouraging my early bed time, and maintaining a reasonably quiet sleep environment in the late evening for me.)

But I’ve still been exhausted during my day, and especially after I come home. It seems like it doesn’t matter how much sleep I get the night before, I’m exhausted. I work a desk job. I do not have a physically demanding job. Why am I so exhausted? Hence the B12 recommendation. I need to read more about B12 and supplementation in general. It would certainly be possible that there is something I’m not getting by not eating (fortified) grains.

