Tags

, , , , ,

I bought a bike rack for the car yesterday. Now I won’t feel so trapped when I want to get out in the hills and ride. I have another rack for the jeep hitch, but my husband drives that, and it’s not always available. Now if the weather would just cooperate. I know, excuses excuses excuses. It’s just not pleasant to try to ride on unpaved surfaces when said surfaces are muddy ruts, and it’s a mere 50 degrees and raining. So I stay home and play with kettlebells and chase the dog around the house and try to increase my pushup count instead. If the dog lets me do the pushups without “helping”, I can just about do 10 full plank pushups. And yes, still working on getting that elliptical time up, but it’s slow. I think I’m up to 9 1/2 minutes now?

Eats have still been a problem for me lately. I had the big whoosh, gained most of it back (thanks hormones *ahem*), but I’m still below my 7-day trend line. As long as I stay below that trend line, I am a happy gal because it stays skewed downward. I suspect the problem is that my digestive system just isn’t dialed in. I tried a magnesium supplement for 2 days, and boy, that was just not right. Not only did it not help do what it was supposed to do, I got palpitations and hot flushes, like if I was taking niacin for cholesterol. (Yes, been there done that. So far I have successfully refused to take a statin.) I’ve been drinking some kefir every day, but only like 4 ounces because the only stuff I can find is very very sugary. Maybe it takes a few days? I have also added a bit of sauerkraut or kimchi to breakfast to try to help things along. I’d be interested in trying to make my own kefir, but getting the milk for it may be the interesting part. (I think I saw that kefir grains can be purchased online?) Everything around here (and I mean everything) is ultra-pasteurized, except a couple brands of whole milk.

As far as real food and nutrition goes, I made a batch of some turkey based curry for work this week. Sauteed some onion, green pepper, and carrot in coconut oil with garlic and green curry paste. When the onions got soft, I added a pound of ground turkey, and kept sauteing until the turkey was browned and cooked through. Then I added a half of a large head of chopped up bok choy, along with a half can of coconut milk. (I saved the rest for drinking, over berries, in my coffee, etc.) As the mix simmered and thickened a bit, I added a handful of chopped cilantro.  This mix is going to be rolled up in lettuce for wraps for work this week. I had a forkful last night, couldn’t resist.  Lunches this week will be fab!!

