Tags

, ,

We had some friends by for dinner last night that we haven’t seen for awhile. The last time we saw them was at our Super Bowl party, immediately after which I started eating primal/paleo. Needless to say, the wife was a bit shocked with how much weight I’ve lost. Oh yes, evangelist time!

A little bit of background about my friend, she’s had heart trouble and chronic fibromyalgia for a long time. She struggles with pain on a daily basis, and has been on a roller coaster of prescriptions trying to manage it.  While setting up dinner plans a few days ago, she mentioned the pain again, and I asked her if she had tried a gluten free diet yet. Poor thing hadn’t even heard of it, but is willing to try it to see if it helps with pain management. I consider it an absolute fail of the medical community not to even consider potential food allergies during her treatment.

We spent a lot of time last night talking about what I eat, and more importantly what I don’t eat. I didn’t get into any of the science, for several reasons. She really would have a hard time understanding it, and I’m not that great at explaining what little I understand anyway. But I told her all the positives, besides the obvious weight loss. My depression, gone. My anxiety, mostly gone. My skin has cleared up. I sleep better (most of the time, but when I don’t it’s probably related to shift work) and have more consistent energy through the day. I still have digestive issues, but I’m confident I’ll get those ironed out in time. She wasn’t just intrigued, she wanted a list of resources NOW.  I may even have her to the house to make her a pint of ghee.

I pointed her to my favorite resource (Marks Daily Apple), and told her to read, read and then read some more before she jumped in. I want her to be absolutely sure she knows what she is getting into. And I hope her husband helps. He sees my success, and grudgingly admitted he has several pounds to lose, too. I hope they can educate themselves, and then have the faith to take that next step. I know I’m not a doctor, but I’m convinced of the evils of sugar and wheat, and I’ll preach that to whomever will listen. If people will give it a month, what do they have to lose? What do they have to gain?  My month has turned into almost the first 4 months of the rest of my life.

Oh yes, dinner last night was broiled flat irons, steamed broccoli, mashed sweet potatoes, mashed regular potatoes (which I didn’t have), and salad with homemade balsamic dressing. They brought a very small chocolate cake (to celebrate Hubs birthday, which was Friday), but between the four of us we only had maybe a third of it. I had maybe three bites, which I put in a bowl and covered in coconut milk. Slurp!

