I have discovered a few things in the past few days.

  1. I have not been taking enough food to work for dinner.
  2. Chinese take-out has something in it that has triggered Very Bad sugar cravings.
  3. Peanuts no longer seem to agree with me.

Lack of adequate grocery shopping has left me without enough snacks, and dinners that have been too small (and frankly, lacking variety). The only thing in the snack cabinet that is passably adequate are the nuts. Silly coworkers all raid the cashews very quickly, leaving only peanuts. I’ve had one packet each shift I’ve worked for the past several shifts. My tummy has been unhappy the next morning, and I’m guessing that’s why.

Further, right now I am craving all sorts of carby things: a thick sandwich, pancakes, biscuits and gravy (oooh that’s a good one). The sauce in the take-out the other day must have had something in it that triggered these. I was doing fine up until then. Must try to avoid all sources of sugar for the next few days, even hidden sources. So that means no bottled condiments for me, either.

Time to hit some recipe sites, and make up a bunch of food for the next few days, so it’ll be easier to get past some of these cravings.

