The good news is that my garden is just about ready for plantings. I have some tomato seedlings growing in a mini greenhouse, and will add others during the rest of this week (peas, beans, maybe a few other things that are suitable for starting seeds indoors). I found donor spinach from last year’s garden, and got those replanted back into the tilled and composted garden. Will hopefully add zucchini, eggplant, carrots, parsnips, beets, lettuce, and a mini melon to the list.  I just hope I have enough room!

The bad news is that in the process of doing all this (plus general weeding and a few other things), I hurt myself. It wasn’t an accident, or an injury, or anything like that.  I spent the better part of yesterday squatting, walking, pushing, pulling, digging, lifting/carrying, and I’m sure various other body movements that I’m not used to doing. Spread out over about 10 hours of nearly constant activity made me hurt. By the time I went to bed last night, my arm and shoulders and pecs and hamstrings were so sore, I could barely move them without crying out. I took a warm bath just to try to soak some of the ache away, but it didn’t help. Sometime during the middle of the night, I resorted to a prescription amount of ibuprofen. After another hour or so of tossing and turning, either the ibuprofen took the edge off the pain or I was just exhausted enough to finally fall asleep.

We (my husband and I) actually started Saturday evening with the purchase of many bags of gravel and river rocks to fill in the bottom of basement window wells. Ours were nasty. A friend came by to help today, and halfway through the first window well, we realized we had purchased nowhere near enough rocks. Two trips today resulted in my pulling/pushing/lifting/carrying roughly 30 more bags of rock (each roughly 40-50 pounds). My arms have since stopped hurting (so much) as bad as last night. They still ache, but it’s not an edgy pain and I can function without wincing.

Needless to say, I think I’ll take it easy the rest of today. Not so difficult to do, considering I have a desk job! 🙂

